Niagara-On-The-Lake is a charming little town of elegant clapboard mansions and leafy streets set where the mouth of the Niagara River empties into Lake Ontario. The town was originally known as Newark and under this name it became the capital of Upper Canada (as Ontario was then known) in 1792. It was to be a temporary honor. Just four years later, the British decided to move the capital farther away from the US border, and chose York (now Toronto) instead. It was a wise decision.
In 1813, the Americans crossed the Niagara River and destroyed Newark in the War of 1812. The British returned after the war to rebuild their homes, and the Georgian town they constructed has survived pretty much intact. Today, visitors take pleasure in exploring the town�s lovely streets, but there is one major attraction, Fort George, a carefully restored British stockade built in the 1790s just southeast of town. The earth and timber palisade encircles ten replica buildings including three blockhouses, the barracks, a guard house, and the officers� quarters.
There is also a powder magazine store, where all the fittings were wood or brass, and the men donned special shoes without buckles to reduce the chance of an unwanted explosion. Guides in old-style British military uniforms describe life in the fort in the 19th century.
Niagra-on-the-Lake is also home to the annual Shaw Festival, a prestigious theatrical season featuring the plays of George Bernard Shaw and other playwrights, which runs from April to November.
Queen�s Parade, Niagara Pkwy.
Tel: (905) 468 4257.
Timing: 10am�5pm daily.